• General Knowledge Tutorial

GK - Schedules of Indian Constitution

The following table describes the Schedule of the Indian Constitution −

Schedule Contains
First Schedule Lists the states and territories of India (also about their changes)
Second Schedule Lists the salaries of officials holding public office, Presidents, judges, and Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Third Schedule Forms of oaths and Affirmations of offices for elected officials including judges
Fourth Schedule Allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (the Upper House of Parliament) per State or Union Territory
Fifth Schedule Provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes
Sixth Schedule Provisions as to the Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram
Seventh Schedule The Union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities
Eight Schedule The Languages
Ninth Schedule Validation of certain Acts and Regulations
Tenth Schedule "Anti-defection" provisions for the Members of Parliament and the Members of the State Legislatures
Eleventh Schedule Panchayat Raj (rural local government)
Twelfth Schedule Municipalities (urban local government)