• General Knowledge Tutorial

General Knowledge - Indian Space

The following table illustrates the major Indian space research organizations along with their location and salient features −

Organization Location Features
Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram It is the largest ISRO base and the main technical center and the venue of development of the SLV-3, ASLV, and PSLV series. The base supports India's Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station and the Rohini Sounding Rocket programme.
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) Thiruvananthapuram & Bengaluru The LPSC is responsible for design, development, testing, and implementation of liquid propulsion control packages, liquid stages and liquid engines for launch vehicles and satellites.
Physical Research Laboratory Ahmedabad It is the study and research center of solar planetary physics, infrared astronomy, geo-cosmo physics, plasma physics, astrophysics, archaeology, and hydrology
Semi-Conductor Laboratory Chandigarh Research & Development in the field of semiconductor technology, micro-electromechanical systems and process technologies relating to semiconductor processing.
National Atmospheric Research Laboratory Chittoor It is the study and research center of fundamental and applied research in Atmospheric and Space Sciences.
Space Applications Centre (SAC) Ahmedabad The SAC deals with the various aspects of practical use of space technology including geodesy, satellite based telecommunications, surveying, remote sensing, meteorology, environment monitoring, etc.
North-Eastern Space Applications Centre Shillong It provides developmental support to North East by undertaking specific application projects using remote sensing, GIS, satellite communication and conducting space science research.
ISRO Propulsion Complex Mahendragiri It handles testing and assembly of liquid propulsion control packages, liquid engines, and stages for launch vehicles and satellites.
ISRO Satellite Centre Bengaluru The satellites Ayrabhata, Bhaskara, APPLE, and IRS-1A were constructed at this site, and the IRS and INSAT satellite series are presently under development here.
Satish Dhawan Space Centre Sriharikota The Sriharikota (an island) acts as a launching site for India's satellites.
Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station Thiruvananthapuram It is used to launch sounding rockets.
Indian Deep Space Network (IDSN) Bengaluru It is responsible to receive, process, archive, and distribute the spacecraft health data and payload data in real time.
National Remote Sensing Centre Hyderabad It applies remote sensing technology to manage natural resources and study aerial surveying.
Master Control Facility Bhopal and Hassan It has earth stations and Satellite Control Centre (SCC) for controlling satellites
Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS) Dehradun It is an independent unit of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Department of Space, Govt. of India that provides training and education to develop trained professionals.
Balasore Rocket Launching Station (BRLS) Balasore, Odisha
Antrix Corporation Bengaluru The marketing arm of ISRO.
Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started