• General Knowledge Tutorial

General Knowledge - Prime Ministers of India

The following table enlists name of all the Prime Minsters of India −

Name Tenure Picture
From To
Jawaharlal Nehru August 1947 May 1964 Jawaharlal Nehru
Gulzarilal Nanda (He was an Acting Prime Minister) May 1964 June 1964 Gulzarilal Nanda
Lal Bahadur Shastri June 1964 January 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri
Gulzarilal Nanda (He was second time an Acting Prime Minister) January 11, 1966 January 24, 1966 Gulzarilal Nanda
Indira Gandhi January 1966 March 1977 Indira Gandhi
Morarji Desai March 1977 July 1979 Morarji Desai
Charan Singh July 1979 January 1980 Charan Singh
Indira Gandhi January 1980 October 1984 Indira Gandhi
Rajiv Gandhi October 1984 December 1989 Rajiv Gandhi
V. P. Singh December 1989 November 1990 V. P. Singh
Chandra Shekhar November 1990 June 1991 Chandra Shekhar
P. V. Narasimha Rao June 1991 May 1996 P. V. Narasimha Rao
Atal Bihari Vajpayee May 16, 1996 June 1, 1996 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
H. D. Deve Gowda June 1996 April 1997 H. D. Deve Gowda
I. K. Gujral April 1997 March 1998 I.k Gujral
Atal Bihari Vajpayee March 1998 May 2004 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Manmohan Singh May 2004 May 2014 Manmohan Singh
Narendra Modi May 2014 Till date Narendra Modi
Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started