Current Affairs July 2017 - Awards

1 - Two Indian-Americans honoured with Great Immigrants Award

Great Immigrants

Indian-Americans, Shantanu Narayen and Vivek Murthy, were honoured with the prestigious 'Great Immigrants' annual award on US's Independence Day on July 4. Shantanu is Adobe Chief while Vivek Murthy is former US Surgeon General.

Other honorees include Canadian-origin social entrepreneur Jeff Skoll, who has been awarded the 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy, PayPal co-founder of Ukrainian origin Max Levchin, Iranian-origin philanthropist and entrepreneur Hushang Ansary.

2 - Danfoss India honored with Golden Peacock environment management award


The Golden Peacock Award, presented to those with excellent corporate management was presented to Danfoss India at Hyderabad International Convention Centre in the presence of Supreme Court Justice Kurain Joseph and other several dignitaries for its manufacturing facility at Chennai which is also rated platinum by Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED).

Danfoss India is an industry focused on climate and energy efficient solutions, company’s works towards sustainable development via its energy-efficient products. Danfoss manufacturing facility at Oragadam, Chennai was recently conferred with a LEED Platinum rated certification, because of its green and sustainable setup.

3 - Indian Railways Organization for Alternate Fuel won Golden Peacock Award for Eco Innovation

Golden Peacock

Indian Railways achieves a major landmark in the field of Eco friendly fuel technologies at Indian Railways Organization for Alternate Fuel (IROAF) was awarded the coveted National level “Golden Peacock Award for the Year 2017 for Eco-Innovation” for substitution of fossil fuels (Diesel) by environment friendly CNG in DEMU passenger train services.

The CNG based dual fuel 1400 HP engine used in DEMU trains developed by IROAF has successfully substituted diesel fuel with CNG upto 20%. Golden Peacock Awards, instituted by the Institute Of Directors, India in 1991, are now regarded as a benchmark of Corporate Excellence worldwide.

4 - Tata Steel bags Prime Minister’s Trophy for best performing Integrated Steel Plant

Tata Steel bags

Tata Steel Limited, Jamshedpur, was conferred with the Prime Minister’s Trophy for the best performing Integrated Steel plant in the country during the performance year 2014-15 and 2015-16.

This makes it the third consecutive-year for the firm to be honoured with this coveted award. Tata Steel has been recognised as the best integrated steel plant for 12 times and has won the PM's Trophy 10 times.

5 - President awards Massive Open Online Courses award to IIMB


Indian President Shri Pranab Mukherjee honored the contribution of IIM Bangalore for making management education accessible to all through Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). IIM Bangalore is also the National Co-ordinator for management education on SWAYAM and has completed five MOOCs on the SWAYAM platform.

President Mukherjee presented the award to Prof. PD Jose, Chairperson, IIMB Digital Learning, who accepted the award on behalf of IIM Bangalore. The IIMBx MOOCs Programme is IIMB’s digital learning gateway and has offered MOOCs to more than 5 lakh global learners.

6 - President of India Presented ‘Pranab Mukherjee Award for Academic Excellence’

Pranab Mukherjee Award

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee, presented the ‘Pranab Mukherjee Award for Academic Excellence’ to Shri Aman Aggarwal for scoring the highest aggregate in Class XII CBSE Examination, 2017 among the students of Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sarvodaya Vidyalaya located in the President’s Estate today (July 19, 2017) at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Both the ‘Omita Paul Award for Academic Excellence’ for scoring highest aggregate marks amongst girls in Class XII CBSE Examination, 2017 as well as the ‘Kunjannamma Mathew Award’ for Academic Excellence’ for scoring highest marks in Mathematics amongst the girls in Class XII CBSE Examination, 2017 were presented to Kumari Muskan Sharma.

7 - L K Advani gets Lifetime Achievement Award for contributions in Lok Sabha

L K Advani

Veteran BJP leader L.K. Advani received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions as a parliamentarian in the Lok Sabha. JD-U leader Sharad Yadav also received the Lifetime Achievement Award as a Rajya Sabha representative. The function was organized by the Lokmat Media Group to honor distinguished Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members.

Awardees from the Lok Sabha:

  • Best Parliamentarian- Revolutionary Socialist Party MP N.K. Premachandran,

  • Best Woman Parliamentarian- Congress leader Kumari Sushmita Dev and

  • Best Debut Woman Parliamentarian- BJP leader Meenakshi Lekhi

Awardees from the Rajya Sabha:

  • Best Parliamentarian- CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury,

  • Best Woman Parliamentarian- Samajwadi Party MP Jaya Bachchan and

  • Best Debut Woman Parliamentarian- Congress MP Rajni Patil

8 - V. O. Chidambaranar Port bagged National Award for Excellence


V. O. Chidambaranar Port bagged National Award for Excellence in Cost Management for the year 2016 from ‘The Institute of Cost Accountants of India’ under the category “Transportation and Logistics”.

The award has been given for exemplary performance and initiatives of V. O. Chidambaranar Port towards reduction of cost per tonne, optimization of manpower, savings in electricity by installation of energy efficient LED lightings, implementation of solar energy systems, reduction of overall cost of handling by mechanization in port operation. Port has received this award thrice earlier, under the category “Service Sector”.