How To Change Youtube Video Privacy Setting?


YouTube is a well-known online video streaming platform on the internet used by millions of users to watch different types of videos. As a creator, YouTube is a great way to showcase your content. But sometimes you don't want the entire YouTube audience to view them. As the owner of a channel on YouTube, you can change your YouTube video privacy settings and control where your videos can appear and who can watch them. But how to decide? First, you need to think about the level of security you want for your videos. Do you just want family, friends and relatives to see them or do you want to make it public? Do you have a business and you want to share a webinar with a definite number of viewers? Are you comfortable sharing your video links with prospective customers or your friends? There are many questions to solve here., so let’s take a closer look.


Privacy settings on YouTube allow you to control who can see your videos and who cannot. There are three settings available - Public, unlisted, and private. Let’s study them one by one:


Public

The YouTube public setting is the default privacy setting for all videos. As a creator, if you are comfortable that everyone can view your videos, and you have no objection to them coming up in Google search results, stick with the public setting.

Advantages of Public settings

  • A huge subscriber count is great for a business, it can attract more customers.
  • It creates effective brand awareness.
  • It's profitable with the right company or creative strategy.
  • It can make you a superstar on YouTube.

Private

The private option makes your video, the most secure type of video on YouTube. They are only visible to people (up to 50) that are invited by you. Private videos don’t appear in video recommendations and search results.

Invitees can’t share the video with other people. Also, even if someone shares the link, others still can’t see the video unless they have the invite.

Advantages of Private settings

  • Sharing videos only with loved ones.
  • Your private video library.
  • Storing company information and only showing it to company employees.
  • Great place to store your videos saving phone memory.

Unlisted

The YouTube’s unlisted video setting is somewhat between private and public settings. Unlisted videos are invisible in search results, subscriber feeds and suggestions. However, in unlisted videos, anyone who has the link can see and share your video.

Advantages of Unlisted settings

If you want to share your videos with a huge group, but don’t want them to appear in search results, then YouTube unlisted is the best choice for you.

Here are some more advantages −

  • It’s great for co-worker feedback.
  • Sharing your portfolio with prospective employers.
  • Field testing a potential public video.
  • Cleaning your YouTube page.


How to Change Privacy Settings?

YouTube video privacy can be changed in two ways. Firstly, at the time you upload your video. Secondly, you can also edit the previous videos uploaded. Let’s study both the method step-by-step −

AT THE TIME OF UPLOAD

Follow the method mentioned below stepwise to set video privacy settings on YouTube videos −

Log in to your YouTube channel. Click on your profile image.


Click on Your channel.


Click on to upload a new video.

Click on Upload Video.

Click on Select files and select the file to be uploaded.

Select the file from your data source. Click Open and Uploading will start.

Once Uploaded add the title, description, thumbnail and every other detail of the video by clicking Next.

In the Visibility option, you have Save or Publish heading and it has three options. Select that who can see you video your video.

Once you have selected your settings like, I have selected Unlisted, click Save on the right bottom corner and your video is published

You will get a dialogue box, from where you can directly share your link to any social media page. You can also copy the link from here by clicking on the rectangle sign beside video link.

HOW TO CHANGE SETTINGS AFTER UPLOAD

Follow the method mentioned below stepwise to edit old uploaded video privacy settings from unlisted to other choices -

Log in to your YouTube channel. Click on your profile image.

Click on Your channel.

Click on Your Videos.

The channel content page will open, check the video you want to edit.

In front of every video, Visibility option is there. As shown below click on the inverted triangle beside Unlisted. Click on it.

A drop-down will open having three options private, Unlisted and public. Select your choice.

After selecting your video privacy settings, click on PUBLISH. Your video privacy settings have been changed.

Conclusion

Changing the privacy setting on YouTube videos is a very simple process and a helpful tool to allow the creators to control the audience.

Protecting privacy is important when we are on the internet. Everyone wants to enjoy the freedom to create and enjoy without intrusion from unwanted users. YouTube private and unlisted provide a barrier from the public whereas public setting gives your video unlimited audiences. But ultimately, it’s you to decide which level of security you need for your content.

Updated on: 05-Sep-2022

171 Views

Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started
Advertisements