Nuclear Energy in India

In this chapter, we will discuss Nuclear Energy in India.

Important Points About Nuclear Power in India

Consider the following points about Nuclear Power in India −

  • Nuclear power in India is the fourth-largest source of electricity after thermal, hydroelectric, and renewable sources (of electricity).

  • India has 22 nuclear reactors operating in 8 nuclear power plants.

  • The total installed capacity of nuclear power in India is 6780 MW. This produces 30,292.91 GWh of electricity.

  • 6 reactors are under construction, which are expected to produce an additional 4,300 MW electricity.

  • The nuclear power plant of Jaitapur (located in Maharashtra) is planned to start in collaboration with France. It is a 9900 MW project.

  • The nuclear power plant of Kudankulam (located in Tamil Nadu) is an Indo-Russian collaboration. It is a 2000 MW project.

  • The Apsara nuclear research reactor was India's first nuclear reactor inaugurated in 1957. This was set up with assistance from the UK.

  • India's domestic uranium reserves are limited; hence, India imports uranium from Russia.

  • Some other countries with which India has uranium supply agreements are Argentina, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, and Namibia.

  • Furthermore, in 2011, the Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD) of India has discovered large deposits of uranium in Tummalapalle belt located in Bhima River basin in Karnataka.

  • In this region, about 44,000 tonnes of natural uranium has been discovered.

Nuclear Power Plants in Operation

The following table lists down the functional nuclear power plants −

Power Plant Location Total capacity (MW) Operator
Rawatbhata Rajasthan 1,180 NPCIL
Tarapur Maharashtra 1,400 NPCIL
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu 2,000 NPCIL
Kakrapar Gujarat 440 NPCIL
Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu 440 NPCIL
Narora Uttar Pradesh 440 NPCIL
Kaiga Karnataka 880 NPCIL

Nuclear Power Plants Under Construction

The following table lists down the nuclear power plants, which are under construction −

Power Plant Location Total capacity (MW) Operator
Rajasthan Unit 7 & 8 Rajasthan 1,400 NPCIL
Kakrapar Unit 3 & 4 Gujarat 1,400 NPCIL
Madras (Kalpakkam) Tamil Nadu 500 Bhavini
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu 2,000 NPCIL

Planned Nuclear Power Plants

The following table lists down the planned nuclear power plant projects −

Power station Location Total capacity (MW)
Jaitapur Maharashtra 9,900
Kovvada Andhra Pradesh 6,600
t.b.d. (Mithi Virdi (Viradi)) Gujarat 6,600
t.b.d. (Haripur) West Bengal 6,000
Gorakhpur Haryana 2,800
Bhimpur Madhya Pradesh 2,800
Mahi Banswara Rajasthan 2,800
Kaiga Karnataka 1,400
Chutka Madhya Pradesh 1,400
Madras Tamil Nadu 1,200
Tarapur Maharashtra 300