Explain the types of crops.

Based on Season the crops in India are divided into three types:

1. Rabi means "spring" in Arabic. Rabi crops are those agricultural crops that are sown in winter and harvested in the spring in India and Pakistan. 

They are sown around mid-November with the onset of the winter season and are harvested during summers in April / May. They require a moderate amount of water for their growth. 

Examples- Wheat, Barley, Sesame, Mustard, Gram, and Peas, etc.

2. Kharif literally means "autumn" in Arabic. Kharif crops, monsoon crops, or autumn crops are those types of crops that are cultivated and harvested in India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh during the Indian subcontinent's monsoon season, which lasts from June to November depending on the area. They require a lot of water for their growth

Examples- Rice, Maize, Bajra, Ragi, Soybean, Groundnut, and Cotton are the major Kharif crops in India.

3. Zaid crops are summer season crops that are grown between Rabi and Kharif season i.e March to June. 

They take a long time period to grow and require warm dry weather as a major growth period and longer day length for flowering.

Examples- Cucumber, Bitter Gourd, Pumpkin, Moong Dal and Watermelon, etc.

Depending on the usage of crops, they can be divided into four main categories.

1.Food Crops (Wheat, Rice, Maize, Millets, Pulses, etc.)

2.Cash Crops (Jute, Cotton, Tobacco, Sugarcane, etc.)

3.Horticulture Crops (Fruits & Vegetables)

4.Plantation Crops (Coffee, Coconut, Rubber, Tea, etc.)


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 10-Oct-2022


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started