Trampolining - Overview

Trampolining is an acrobatic competitive sport where the players need to perform different acrobatic skills while rebounding on a trampoline. It is considered as a competitive sport as well as an effective gymnastic activity. Trampolining is also a part of Olympic Games and it was introduced in Olympics in 2000. There are three different varieties to this game: Synchronised trampoline, tumbling, and double minitrampoline.

In case of trampolining, players need to perform a series of 10 acrobatic moves after bouncing from the trampoline and flying smoothly. Judges give points to the player based on his skill sets, style of execution, timings. The best three players to get maximum points are declared winner.


Trampolining was initially originated in order to train astronauts as well as a training exercise for other sports. Around 1934, George Nissen made the first modern trampoline with the help of Larry Griswold after observing trapeze artists performing tricks while bouncing off the safety net. Quickly, it was introduced in schools as well as private entertaining centres.

The first ever televised national trampolining championship was held in England in 1958. The first trampolining world championship was held in London in 1964. In 1965, International Trampoline Federation was found which later on worked as the world governing body for trampolining. By 1969, the first European Championship was held in Paris.

Slowly the game was adopted by European countries as well as Soviet Union. Since 2000, trampolining became a part of Olympics after which more numbers of countries started adopting and playing the sport.

Participating Countries

Both as a competitive sport and an exercise, trampolining has a huge popularity. Initially American players were very much successful at different worldwide trampolining tournaments. Slowly European players started dominating the sport. Even in countries like Germany and France, trampolining is having a huge popularity.

Trampolining is very popular in USA, France, Russia, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, Bulgaria, Denmark, China, and Portugal.