What is the structure of a flower?

A flower consists of four whorls such as Petals, Carpels, Sepals, and Stamens.

Sepals are the leafy structures that encompass the flower bud.

Petals have highlighting colours to attract insects for pollination.

The androecium is a male reproductive structure which consists of stamens. It is comprised of filament and anther which holds the pollen grains.

The gynoecium is female reproductive structures which consist of carpels. It consists of three structures such as Style, Ovary, and Stigma. Pollen lands on stigma and reaches the ovary through the way of style. The ovary consists of ovules which produce the seed.

Updated on: 10-Oct-2022


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started