How to Block a Number on an iPhone?


Spam calls have only gotten worse over time. These annoying auto-dialed spam calls from insurance telemarketers and telecom companies are nuisances. While there is no way to eliminate scam calls, you can permanently block them on your iPhone if you recognize a cell number as spam. Here are some ways to stop bogus and spam calls, whether you want to halt annoying robocalls or block the number of people you don't like.

How to Block a Call from a Number You Received Recently?

Follow the steps given below to block a call from a number −

  • From the Home screen, tap the Phone icon. You may get a list of recent phone numbers that have called your device or that you have called from this page.

  • Select Recents, then All. The most recent calls will be at the top of this list.

  • To block a phone number, tap the "i" icon to the right of the number. More information about a specific number may be found here, as well as options for what to do with it.

  • Select "Block this Caller" from the drop-down menu at the bottom of the page. When you tap this, a pop-up window opens, informing you that persons on your block list will be unable to contact you via phone, text, or FaceTime.

  • You can, however, tap Cancel if you change your mind. Following the identical processes, but selecting "Unblock this Caller" instead of "Block Caller", you can subsequently unblock a number.

How to Block a Number from Your Contacts?

Go to your Home screen and Contacts. If Contacts isn't on your Home screen (or you can't find it for whatever reason), you can use your phone app to find it. Contacts are located next to Recents in the bottom menu of the screen.

  • To block a contact or a phone number, tap it.

  • Then select "Block this Caller" from the drop-down menu. On a pop-up screen, you will be prompted to confirm the action. Note that people on your block list will not call you, send you messages, or FaceTime you.

  • After tapping "Block Contact", the number will be added to the Blocked list. If you've changed your mind or inserted the wrong number, click Cancel.

Blocking a Contact on FaceTime

To block a contact on FaceTime, follow the steps given below −

  • Go to "FaceTime → Settings". On the next screen, make sure FaceTime is turned on, and then wait for the rest of the menu to load. Then select Blocked from the drop-down menu. You'll see a list of all the Blocked numbers that won't be able to FaceTime with you here.

  • After that, tap "Add New". You'll be sent to your Contacts list from here.

  • To add a contact to your FaceTime Blocked list, tap them. Furthermore, the number or email will be unable to reach you using FaceTime.

What happens when you put a number on your iPhone's blocklist?

It's simple to block a phone number on your iPhone, but you might be curious about what happens to the person who receives your Block. When you block a phone number on your iPhone, that number can no longer text, call, or FaceTime you.

Of course, banning someone's phone number on an iPhone does not prevent them from reaching you using third-party apps like Instagram or WhatsApp. However, text messages sent to your iPhone from a blocked number will not be sent, and that number will not call you or send you FaceTime calls.

What happens if a call is blocked?

After you block a number on your iPhone, the blocked Caller is sent to your voicemail - which is, by the way, their sole indication that they've been blocked.

The individual can still leave a voicemail, but it will not appear in your normal voicemail box. Instead, scroll to the bottom of the voicemail window and select the "Blocked Messages" tab.

What happens if a FaceTime call is blocked?

When someone tries to FaceTime a number they've been blocked by, the banned FaceTimer's call will ring and ring without obtaining an answer (because the person on the receiving end has no idea they are being called) - until the blocked Caller gives up.

What happens to iPhone blocked texts?

If you block a contact, their texts will be ignored. The person whose number you've banned will receive no notification that their message to you has been blocked; their text will sit there, appearing to have been sent but not yet delivered, but it will be lost in the ether.


Advertisements