What is a hybrid system?

The hybrid system adopts a single strictly defined structure and they combine different structures resulting in the hybrid system. The hybrid system is generally used in mobile and laptops.

Hybrid system is a type of system which is used for increasing the performance, security and other user services and it is very efficient in the operating system.

Types of Hybrid Systems

There are three types of hybrid systems used in the OS. They are mostly used in every device. These types are as follows −

Mac OS

The mac OS generally uses a hybrid structure and it is a layered system, the Mac OS consists of a microkernel and it is also used in memory management and also supports for networking and file systems.

The Mac OS is also used for different applications so that a number of software’s can work in the OS and the apple company mainly used the Mac OS in the computer or other devices.


iOS is one type of operating system designed by Apple to run its smartphones, iphones as well as tablets. iOS is structured on the Mac OS and in Iphone , ipad, ipod the company uses the iOS operating system.

iOS is developing applications that run on iOS devices and iOS is a better method for communication on the mobile.

Android OS

The android operating system was developed for android smartphones and tablet computers and the android OS is used for a variety of mobile platforms and for the open-source OS.

It is a user-friendly operating system. Android OS is also similar to IOS and it is used for layered structure and different layers are involved in it to form the android operating system.

Microsoft Windows NT kernel −

The Microsoft Windows NT kernel is also called as a hybrid system, the NT stands for new technology. It has advanced networking capabilities and hardware support, it was introduced in the year 1993. Later Windows NT was replaced by windows 2000 but still, it had the Windows NT Kernel.

Different user agent versions of Windows NT −

Windows NT 5.0 = Windows 2000

Windows NT 5.1 = Windows XP

Windows NT 5.2 = Windows Server 2003

Windows NT 6.0 = Windows Vista

Windows NT 6.1 = Windows 7

Windows NT 6.2 = Windows 8

Windows NT 6.3 = Windows 8.1

Windows NT 10.0 = Windows 10

Updated on: 01-Dec-2021

4K+ Views

Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started