What are the Standard Organizations for Data Communications?

Data Communication is a phase of swapping data or information. This process contains a communication system that is created from hardware and software. The hardware part contains the sender and receiver devices and the intermediate devices through which the data moves. The software element includes specific rules which determine what is to be connected, how it is to be connected, and when. It is also referred to as a Protocol.

The primary standards organizations for data communication are as follows −

International Standard Organization (ISO)

ISO is the international organization for standardization on a broad range of subjects. It includes mainly members from the standards committee of several administrations throughout the world.

It is important for developing models which support a high level of system compatibility, quality development, improved productivity, and decreased costs. The ISO is also responsible for supporting and integrating the work of the different standards organizations.

International Telecommunications Union-Telecommunication Sector (ITU-T)

ITU-T is one of the four permanent parts of the International Telecommunications Union located in Geneva, Switzerland. It has created three sets of descriptions: the V series for modem integrating and data transmission over telephone lines, the X series for data transmission over public digital networks, email, and directory services.

The I and Q series for Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN) and its continuation Broadband ISDN. ITU-T membership includes government authorities and representatives from several countries and it is the present standards organization for the United Nations.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

IEEE is an international professional organization established in the United States and is composed of electronics, computer, and communications engineers. It is presently the world’s largest professional society with over 200,000 members. It creates communication and data processing standards with the basic goal of advancing theory, creativity, and product quality in any area associated with electrical engineering.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

ANSI is the authorized standards agency for the United States and is the U.S voting characteristics for the ISO. ANSI is a private, non-profit organization of supplied manufacturers and users of data processing equipment and services. ANSI membership is composed of people from professional societies, market associations, governmental and regulatory bodies, and user goods.

Electronics Industry Association (EIA)

EIA is a non-profit U.S. trade association that creates and recommends modern standards. EIA activities involve standards development, boosting public awareness, and promoting and it is responsible for developing the RS (recommended standard) sequence of standards for records and communications.

Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)

TIA is the leading trade association in the communications and data technology industry. It supports business development opportunities through industry development, trade promotion, trade shows, and standards development. It defines manufacturers of communications and data technology products and also supports the convergence of new communications networks.

Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)

The IETF is a large international community of network designers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the development of the Internet architecture and continuous services of the Internet.

Internet Research Task Force (IRTF)

The IRTF promotes research of importance to the evolution of the future Internet by generating focused, long-term and small research groups working on topics associated with Internet protocols, software, architecture, and technology.

Updated on: 17-Nov-2021

4K+ Views

Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started