What is fat?

Fat is one of the three main macronutrients in the human diet, along with carbohydrates and proteins.

Fats are substances that help the body to process some vitamins such as A, D, E, and K, which are all fat-soluble, and keep the skin healthy, they are also the main way the body stores energy.

Fats are divided into four major groups:

1. Saturated fats. (Bad fats) Example- Coconut oil, palm oil, cheese.

2. Trans fats. (Bad fats) Example- Beef or Pork fat, cookies, french fries.

3. Monounsaturated fats. (Good fats) Example- Nuts (almond, cashew), Peanut butter, Avocado.

4. Polyunsaturated fats. (Good fats) Example- Salmon, Sardines, Walnut, Sunflower Oil.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 20-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started