Different C++ Versions

There are a lot of versions of the C++ programming language. These versions of the language are implementations of compilers based on specifications constructed by the ISO C++ community, the community that oversees the development of the language. The following are the versions of the language −

  • C++98 (ISO/IEC 14882:1998) is the first edition.
  • C++03 (ISO/IEC 14882:2003) is the second edition.
  • C++11 is the third edition.
  • C++14 is the fourth edition.
  • C++17 is the fifth edition.

All of these versions have a lot of differences, mainly additions to the standard library and expansion of APIs. These standards also have differences in APIs due to deperaction. You can read about the specifications of these versions on the ISO website: https://isocpp.org/. All the specification drafts are available for free download on the website. You can also comment on the current draft under development on their GitHub repository: https://github.com/cplusplus/draft