What are the types of simple permanent tissue?

Simple permanent tissues are classified into three main types. They are-

1. Parenchyma- Cells of the parenchyma tissues are living, with thin cell walls. They are oval, elongated and loosely packed with large intercellular space and have dense cytoplasm. They are located in the soft parts of the plant such as cortex and pith.

2. Collenchyma- Cells of collenchyma tissues are living with thick corners of the cell wall. They are oval, elongated and tightly packed with no intercellular spaces. They are located in the leaf stalks, below the epidermis in leaves and stem.

3. Sclerenchyma- Cells of sclerenchyma tissues are dead with the very thick cell wall due to the deposition of lignin. They are narrow and elongated. They are located in the leaf veins, surrounding the vascular bundle, hard coverings of the seeds and nuts.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 24-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started