Explain the simple permanent tissues.

Simple permanent tissues are made up of only one type of cell. Simple permanent tissues cannot be divided. The cells are differentiated. Simple or complex tissues are present. Cells can be living (Parenchyma) or non-living (Sclerenchyma).

The cytoplasm may or may not be present. The nucleus is prominent. Cells are completely differentiated and do not get divide. Cells are large in size, the shape may vary and the lumen is very narrow or wide.

They are classified into three main types such as parenchyma, collenchyma, and sclerenchyma.

1. Parenchyma: Parenchyma tissues possess living cells, with thin cell walls. They are oval, elongated, and loosely packed with large intercellular spaces and dense cytoplasm.

They are located in the soft parts of the plant such as the cortex and pith.

2. Collenchyma: Collenchyma tissue possesses living cells with thick corners of the cell wall. They are oval-shaped, elongated, and tightly packed with no intercellular spaces.

They are located in the leaf stalks, below the epidermis in leaves and stem.

3. Sclerenchyma: Sclerenchymatous tissues possess dead cells with very thick cell walls due to lignin deposition. They are narrow and elongated.

These tissues are located in the leaf veins, surrounding the vascular bundle, and hard coverings of the seeds and nuts.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 16-Jan-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started