Explain- Food provides raw materials for growth and development.

When food is digested, it breaks down into chemical substances called nutrients, which act as a raw material for growth, and development such as repair and maintenance of body parts, and regulation of body functions (like maintaining constant body temperature and circulating fluids throughout the body).

There are more than 50 known nutrients, and each nutrient has a different function, yet no single nutrient works alone.

Nutrients are divided into seven major categories, and they are:

(1)Carbohydrates, (2)Proteins, (3)Vitamins (4)Fats, (5)Water, (6)Fiber and (7)Minerals (calcium, iodine, phosphorus, sodium, iron).


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 27-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started