What are the 3 Ws of ECSA Certification?

There is a lot to study if you want to become a complete security professional. Training in ethical hacking is a fantastic place to begin, but if you want to stand out to potential employers or are simply interested in improving your skills, you should check for ECSA certification.

Even if you already have a job in cybersecurity, you should familiarize yourself with ECSA v10. An ECSA course dramatically increases your value to potential employers and knowledge base.

What is ECSA?

The ECSA certification program develops on the foundation of certifications such as the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH). It's a credential that prepares individuals to work in the cybersecurity industry by instructing them on advanced security practices and Licensed Penetration Tester (LPT) methodology.

Security architects, consultants, and penetration testers may all benefit from ECSA, as can middle-level security managers. Though it's not required to participate in ECSA, many experts in the field of cybersecurity advise acquiring your CEH certification beforehand.

If you were wondering, "EC-Council" refers to the International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants, a group that offers certifications in several areas of electronic commerce and computer security. The EC-Council is well-known as a professional certifying body and is funded entirely by its members.

How crucial is ECSA?

Consider the ECSA a more advanced sequel to the CEH program. Beyond the usual tools of an ethical hacker, it includes penetration testing labs where students may exploit vulnerabilities. Sessions like this educate those in cybersecurity on how to evaluate the effectiveness of hacking methods and the hardware and software used to carry them out.

The ECSA training program is the middle piece in a three-part puzzle. After completing the CEH course and the ECSA, most cybersecurity professionals earn their Licensed Penetration Tester certification. The IT world agrees that LPT is the best of the best, when it is a matter of ethical hacking. If you have LPT certification, people will view you as a highly skilled specialist in the subject of cybersecurity.

Ethical hacking training is beneficial, but gaining an ECSA certification will set you apart. Earning this credential demonstrates to potential employers that you have the knowledge and abilities to secure their systems and data. According to a Hackread article, ECSA is among the top five confirmed credentials that may significantly advance your cybersecurity profession and increase your earning potential.

What is the ECSA Test?

A practical exam in penetration testing, consisting of a series of challenges, must be passed to achieve your ECSA certification. For example, you may be tasked with obtaining the hash of a protected file or cracking into a system, both of which you will need to do in the allotted time.

After completing the difficulties and knowing the best solutions, submit a penetration testing report explaining your process. In other words, you won't just need to conduct a penetration exercise but also think of ways to defend against it.

After you've completed everything, you'll take the official ECSA test.

The ECSA is a four-hour, 150-question test. There is a common misperception that candidates need a score of at least 70% to pass the test; however, the total percentage may vary, as detailed on the EC-Council web page.

The minimum percentage of questions you need to achieve a passing mark varies depending on the difficulty of the questions being administered at any particular moment. The problems in the area are exceptionally challenging, so even if you get a few of them right, you could still do well enough to pass the exam overall. Take this as an illustration of the value of excellence over quantity.

The vital thing to remember is that the exam will be something other than a traditional pass/fail examination based on a certain percentage. Since the ECSA exam is difficult and covers conceptually and practically complex material, traditional testing strategies are of little use.

It's not just these people in IT who might benefit from ECSA training.

  • Hackers with a moral compass

  • Experts in testing security and administering firewalls

  • Computer system administrators and network administrators

  • Intruder detectors

  • Trained experts in assessing risk

  • Investigators and engineers specializing in security

Consequently, it is recommended that you investigate ECSA certification if your profession entails any aspect of IT security. Although it may not be required of you at the moment, you should be prepared for the possibility that it will become so. Having the ECSA on your resume can also help you look better to higher-ups in your company if you ever decide to move in that direction.

How Much Does the ECSA Exam Cost, and What Are the Prerequisites?

To be eligible to take the test, you must either complete an approved ECSA training course or an official EC-Council training session or provide evidence of having worked in the information security field for at least two years. Complete an eligibility form if you still need to take a training course.

The minimum age for applicants is also 18. Candidates under 18 with parental or guardian permission to take the exam and a letter of recommendation from an approved college or university may do so.

A $100 non-refundable application fee is required for the two-year work experience option. The other two scenarios have the fee either waived entirely or included in the total price of the course.

You must take the exam within three months of the day your application was accepted. To take the EC-Council ECSA test would set you back 1,099 dollars. You need to pass the test to get your money back.

Why Join the EC-ECSA Council in the First Place?

The EC stated Council's goal is "to verify information security professionals who are equipped with the relevant skills and knowledge required in a specialized information security sector" to prevent a cyber-war.

By joining the EC-Council, you'll be a member of a group that has earned a stellar reputation in the cybersecurity industry. The credibility of your security record will be bolstered by the fact that you are a member in good standing.

Everyone who wants to be an EC-Council ECSA member must enroll in 120 hours of continuing education every three years (at least 20 credits per year). You must complete the EC-Council Continuing Education (ECCE) Program to maintain your ECSA certification after three years, as outlined on the ECSA's online policy page.

What to Like Work at ECSA, and How Much Do They Pay?

Payscale has estimated that an EC-Council Certified Security Analyst may earn an average salary of $94,000 per year. Many are employed in cybersecurity engineering, penetration testing, and security engineering.


If you already have these credentials, you will be better prepared to complete the ECSA course, test, and get your certification. Either begin a cybersecurity job or continue your LPT credential education.

Whatever path you take, keep in mind that cybersecurity is a rapidly growing field with a high demand for trained people. Many businesses will love to hire you if you're interested in a career in cybersecurity.