How many joints are there?

A joint is a connection made between bones in the body which hold them together and allow movement in two or more bones and link the skeletal system to function as a whole.

The joints of the human body are divided into three main types:

1. Immovable Joints: These joints are fixed and fibrous and do not allow movement in two or more bones in close contact. 

For example- Bones of the skull.

2. Slightly Movable: Structurally these joints are classified as cartilaginous joints, as bones are connected by cartilage at the joint. It can be defined as two or more bones held so tightly together that only limited movement takes place. But, it provides less stability than immovable joints. 

For example- Vertebrae of the spine.


3. Freely Movable: It is also known as synovial joints, that have synovial fluid in the joint cavity between connective bones.which enables all parts of the joint to move smoothly against each other. 

For example- Joints in the knee, elbow, shoulder, hip, and wrist.

Updated on: 10-Oct-2022


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started