HTML - <doctype> Tag


The HTML <doctype> tag is used for specifying which version of HTML the document is using. This is referred to as the document type declaration (DTD).

NOTE − The <!DOCTYPE> tag does not have an end tag!.


<!DOCTYPE html>

      <title>HTML doctype Tag</title>

      <p>doctype declaration <doctype> is mentioned at the starting of
         every HTML document.</p>

This will produce the following result −


HTML 4.01 has 3 possible doctypes − HTML 4 Strict, HTML 4 Transitional, and HTML 4 Frameset. Every HTML document you create should have one of these three DTDs.

HTML 4 Strict

This document type includes all HTML elements except those that have been deprecated, and those that appear in frameset documents.


HTML 4 Transitional

This document type includes all HTML elements including those that have been deprecated.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"

HTML 4 Frameset

This document type includes all HTML elements in the transitional DTD as well as those in framed document.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"

HTML 5 Declaration

In HTML5 there is only one declaration i.e.

<!DOCTYPE html>

Browser Support

Chrome Firefox IE Opera Safari Android
Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes