Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) Certification

CISSP credential is managed by the International Information Systems Security Credential Consortium, also known as (ISC)2. The CISSP credential is a vendor-neutral standard that is recognized all over the world. This credential attests to the holder's technical knowledge and practical expertise in establishing and managing security programs. IT security professionals hold this credential.

Employers are continually looking for people who have passed the CISSP exam because this credential is known as one of the best in this field of information technology. It is because individuals who have achieved the CISSP credential have demonstrated an academic understanding of cybersecurity, practical experience, and, in some cases, specialized study in the sector. It is required to be eligible for the credential

CISSP certification options

More than earning the CISSP title is required to pass the Systems Security Professional exam. The minimum requirement for this position is five years of relevant experience in two of the eight knowledge categories associated with cybersecurity.

The (ISC)2 recommends a four-step certification process, the first of which is determining whether or not the candidate is qualified to hold the CISSP credential. (ISC)Two candidates with a significant amount of expertise in the field of cybersecurity are strongly encouraged to pursue the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification. The Certified Security Professional or CISSP) credential applies to a wide range of positions, including those of chief information security officer, chief information officer, director of security, director of information technology, IT manager, security systems engineer, security analyst, security manager, security auditor, security architect, security consultant, and network architect.

According to the Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC), the following step is to be ready for and register for the certification exam. Self-study using CISSP practice books and study guides and taking online practice exams are all valid ways to prepare for the exam. Preparation classes for the CISSP exam are something that a lot of would-be professionals do.

IT security professionals can get certified

In addition to achieving a passing score on the CISSP examination, candidates must sign the CISSP exam agreement, affirm that they will abide by the (ISC)2 code of ethics, provide responses to background qualification questions, and acquire an endorsement from a currently certified professional.

For candidates to keep their CISSP certification active, they must complete 40 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) and pay an annual fee of $85.

Exams for CISSP certification

Security and risk management, asset security, security communications, engineering, identity network security, security assessment access management and testing, software development security, and security operations are just some of the eight domains that are tested on the CISSP exam, which consists of 250 multiple-choice questions and advanced innovative questions over the course of its six-hour duration. The exam also includes advanced creative questions. On the scaled score, you need to have a point total of a minimum of 700 out of 1,000 to pass the test and receive the certificate.

For the CISSP test, candidates can choose to take it in a variety of languages, including English, French, German, Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, simplified Chinese, and Korean, and a format designed specifically for candidates who are visually impaired. The organization and management of the certification test are both the responsibilities of Pearson VUE.

Consider the CISSP Exam's Benefits

At the time of this writing, the examination has a starting cost of $699; however, the final price may be higher or lower depending on the application of local fees and taxes. There is a fee of $50 to take the certification exam and a fee of $100 to cancel your registration. The CISSP certification is valid for a total of three years once the candidate has satisfied all of the qualifications. CISSPs are eligible for recertification after three years if they have paid the annual maintenance fee and completed 40 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) each year.

CISSP Courses

Because the CISSP certification exam is designed for working cybersecurity professionals with significant practical experience in the field, a candidate should rely on something other than formal CISSP training to gather the knowledge and skills necessary to pass the exam and earn the credential.

Instead, it should spend time in CISSP courses going over the Common Body of Knowledge, an all-encompassing framework that organizes the numerous domains of knowledge that are required of cybersecurity specialists. In addition, it should test the candidate's understanding of the material covered on the exam and point out any knowledge deficiencies.

The CISSP's Various Subspecialties

Existing CISSPs have the opportunity to broaden their credentials by specializing in either engineering (CISSP-ISSEP), management (CISSP-ISSMP), or architecture (CISSP-ISSAP). In addition to possessing the CISSP credential, the candidate must have a minimum of two years of professional experience in one or more fields associated with the concentration.

In addition, to access control systems and methods, communications and network security, cryptography, security architecture analysis, and business continuity and disaster recovery strategies as they relate to information technology, the ISSAP framework also includes considerations for physical security.


ISSEP covers various topics, including information assurance-related policies and issuances from the United States government, systems security engineering, certification and accreditation/risk management framework, technical management, and more.

The ISSMP comprises several domains, including security leadership and management, security lifecycle management, security compliance management, emergency management, and law, ethics, and incident management.

Completing 125 questions on the ISSAP and ISSMP, as well as the 150 questions on the ISSEP, takes three hours and is only offered in English. Each of the examinations has a price tag of $599.

Candidates must go through the endorsement process similar to the CISSP after earning 700 out of 1,000 on the exam of their choice. Candidates must maintain their certification by completing 20 hours of approved continuing professional education (CPE) each year and paying the annual renewal fee of $35.