5-Kingdom classification was given by
(a) Morgan
(b) R. Whittaker
(c) Linnaeus
(d) Haeckel

AcademicBiologyNCERTClass 9

Correct Answer((b) R. Whittaker


R.H. Whittaker proposed the five-kingdom classification. Kingdom classification simplifies the study of a variety of organisms. It is the grouping in a systematic manner depending on its distinctive characteristics.

It is accepted all over the world as it is based on certain characteristics of organisms such as mode of nutrition, thallus organization, cell structure, phylogenetic relationships, and reproduction. 

The five kingdoms are Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia.  

Updated on 10-Oct-2022 13:31:04