Top IT Security Certifications

Today, many users complain about data theft and unauthorized access to data, and all are searching for the easiest ways to keep their data safe & secured. Here, cyber security plays a vital role in maintaining the data security of websites or web servers. A Third-party Certification Authority or CA provides a security certificate to a website or web application.

Top IT security certifications in recent time

Cyber Security or IT security is applied to maintain the security level of a website or a web server, Internet Service Providers, and General Visitors. This digital certificate is embedded within a website to preserve its authenticity and reliability. Let's check the top IT security certificates popular in recent times.

CompTIA Security+

It is an entry-level security certification process that authenticates exceptional skills necessary for cybersecurity performance. It is the first IT certification that an IT professional achieves. Once an IT professional earns this cyber Security certification, it helps them get better job opportunities. IT professionals sit for this examination. They need to prepare in areas like threats, attacks, design, architecture, incident response, operations, Governance, etc.

CISSP or Certified Information System Security Professional

CISSP is one of the most talked about cyber security certifications, and International Information System Security Certification Consortium permits this IT security. Once IT professionals earn this certification, they own the skill to formulate, implement and monitor cybersecurity programs.

IT professionals have an experience in cyber security once they gain this certification. Once IT professionals have this certification, they can get jobs as IT audit managers, IT security engineers, IT Project engineers, Compliance Program Managers, etc.

CISM or Certified Information Security Manager

Another advanced certification process denotes that an IT professional holds the knowledge to develop an enterprise's INFOSEC or Information Security Program. This security certificate is offered by ISACA.

This examination process comes with 150 multiple-choice questions, and the passing score is 450. This examination covers the areas like Information Security Governance, Information Risk Management, Information Security Incident Management, and Information Security Program Development & Management.

CISA or Certified Information System Auditor

Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) issues CISA. This examination is held to validate the presence of IT specialists to control and manage the business system in an organization. With the CISA certification, IT professionals will get an opportunity in the information system audit.

IT professionals have become more aware of protecting Information Systems. IT professionals, having CISA certification, hold the highest-paid jobs. Aspirants need to have one year of experience in Information system audit. Professionals who possess this certificate are capable of evaluating security and enacting controls. CISA certificate holders can get the job opportunities like IT Audit Manager, Cybersecurity Auditor, IT Security Engineer, IT Project Manager, Compliance Program Manager, etc.

CEH or Certified Ethical Hacker

White Hat Hacking, or Ethical hacking, has become popular among IT professionals. ECCouncil issues this certification, and professionals who hold this certification are skilled in the following areas

  • Attack detection
  • Vectors
  • Prevention
  • Penetration Testing

An IT professional can get job opportunities as a Certified Ethical Hacker, Penetration Tester, Cyber incident analyst, Intelligent Threat analyst, Cloud security architect, and Cyber security engineer.

GSEC or GIAC Security Essential Certification

International Information System Security Certification Consortium grants GIAC, and it helps professionals become skilled in technical proficiency in IT cyber security. IT professionals who are from a networking background can opt for this certification. This certification allows an IT professional to earn skills in

  • Active Defence
  • Network security
  • Cryptography
  • Cloud Security

Job roles that an IT professional can obtain after holding the GSEC are

  • Penetration Tester
  • IT security manager
  • Computer forensic analyst
  • IT auditor
  • Software development engineer

CASP+ or CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner

Despite having advanced skills, cyber security professionals willing to work in technology can have CASP+ certification. IT professionals need to gather knowledge in the topics like risk analysis, software susceptibility, cryptographic techniques, and virtualization expertise. This certification is not for those IT professionals at the managerial level. Security professionals, IT engineers & supervisors, Forensic Analysts, Penetration Testers, and security administrators must qualify for this certification examination. So, only expert and experienced cyber security professionals can opt for this certification.

SSCP or System Security Certified Practitioner

IT professionals working within an enterprise's security systems need SSCP certification. The professionals must prepare in areas like risk identification, cryptography, risk analysis, security administration, application security, etc. Before the professionals sit for the certification examination, they need at least one year of work experience as salaried employees in the field of testing.

IT professionals can have jobs in the fields like Network Security Engineer, System Administrator, Security analyst, Security Consultant, Database administrator, etc. Once professionals qualify for this examination, they can learn new skills. This certification will help professionals to make their resumes more marketable. The IT professionals will learn how to fulfill the security clearance requirements.

GCIH or GIAC Certified Incident Handler

IT experts who want to learn more about standard attack technology, and the ways to respond & defend against attacks, need to hold GCIH certification. After having this certificate, IT professionals can become security incident handlers, security architects, and security administrators.

Aspirants must know some basic knowledge of security principle, networking protocols, and windows command before they appear for this certification exam.

OSCP or Offensive Security Certified Professionals

Professionals who work as penetration testers need to have OSCP certification. Besides penetration testers, ethical hackers, threat researchers, and application security analysts can also have this certification.

Undoubtedly, the above cyber security certifications will help expand employment opportunities. Professionals will become more skilled in IT and gain professional credibility. The above cyber security or IT security certifications are ranked among the top cyber securities. Professionals need to select the certificate depending on their current skills. But every professional should have a primary computer science degree while opting for the above cyber security certifications.

Updated on: 07-Dec-2022


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started