Major Islands of Africa

Africa is home to many significant islands which are mostly found in Indian Ocean, Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Guinea. From The Madagascar, being the largest island of Africa to Seal and Lamu Island, each have their own significances, are popular tourist destinations and are home to unique wildlife and culture. The second-largest continent, Africa, is renowned for its massive mainland as well as its beautiful islands.

The islands of Africa provide a special fusion of unmatched natural beauty, dynamic cultures, and extensive history.

Features of Major Island of Africa

Here are the descriptions about major islands of Africa −


  • The name Madagascar is used to refer to the Republic of Madagascar.

  • Antananarivo is the country's largest and capital city.

  • It is the second-largest island nation, the fourth-largest island in the globe, and the 46th-largest country overall.

  • It is an island nation off of Africa's southeast coast.

  • The island nation of Madagascar is made up of a large main island and numerous smaller auxiliary islands.


  • Seychelles is an island nation in the western Indian Ocean with roughly 115 islands. It is home to a diverse range of marine life, lush tropical foliage, and stunning beaches.

  • The capital of Seychelles is Victoria. It is situated on the island of Mahé.

  • The Seychelles are situated roughly 700 miles (1,100 km) northeast of Madagascar and 1,600 miles (1,004 km) east of Kenya.

  • One of the smallest nations on earth, Seychelles, is made up of two main island groups: the Mahé group, which includes more than 40 inner, mountainous granitic islands, and a second group, which includes more than 70 outer, flat, coralline islands.

Sao Tome and Principe

  • Sao Tome and Principe is an island nation in Central Africa. It is situated in the Gulf of Guinea near the Equator.

  • The Democratic Republic of So Tome and Principe is its full name.

  • It is made up of two major islands, So Tomé and Principe, as well as a number of rocky islets, like Rolas, which is located south of So Tome Island, and Caroco, Pedras, and Tinhosas, which are located south of Principe.


  • Three of the Comoro Islands, located in the Indian Ocean off the coast of East Africa, make up the independent state of Comoros.

  • The Union of the Comoros is the name given to it formally.

  • On July 6, 1975, Comoros declared its independence from France.

  • The Comoros has an area of 1,861 km2 (719 sq mi), making them the fourth-smallest nation in Africa.

  • The Comorian archipelago's volcanic islands are renowned for their outstanding natural beauty and have earned the nickname "perfumed islands" due to their fragrant plant life.


  • Officially known as the Republic of Mauritius, Mauritius is an African island nation in the Indian Ocean.

  • It is located around 2,000 km east of Madagascar, off the southeast coast of East Africa. It contains Rodrigues, Agalega, and St. Brandon in addition to the main island (commonly known as Mauritius).

  • The nation has a total area of 2,040 square kilometres (790 square miles) and a 2,300,000 square kilometre exclusive economic zone.

Cape Verde Islands

  • The Republic of Cabo Verde, often known as the Cape Verde Islands, is an archipelago of islands in the centre of the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Ten volcanic islands totaling roughly 4,033 square kilometres make up this group.

  • In 1975, Cape Verde gained its independence.

  • Along with the Azores, Canary Islands, Madeira, and Savage Isles, the Cape Verde islands are a member of the Macaronesia ecoregion.

  • The distance between these islands and Cap-Vert, the westernmost point of continental Africa, is between 600 and 850 kilometres (320 and 460 nautical miles).

Tunisia Island

  • It consists of Djerba, Zembra, Jazirat Qurayyat, Plane Island and Zembretta island.

  • Located in North Africa's Maghreb region, Tunisia is a nation with a three-thousand-year history.

  • Djerba, a Tunisian island off the coast of Tunisia, is the largest island in North Africa at 514 square kilometres (198 square miles).

  • There are roughly 30 islands in the nation. Direct international boundaries exist with Algeria and Libya, the two nations that are neighbours.

  • The island has been asked to receive UNESCO World Heritage status protected by Tunisia.

Seal Island

  • The large number of Cape fur seals that live there gave the island its name.

  • In South Africa, close to Cape Town, 5.7 kilometres (3.5 miles) off the northern beaches of False Bay is a small island called Seal Island.

  • Seabirds live there as well, and it's possible that non-marine species also migrate there to reproduce.

  • During World War II, a crew built a radar mast on the island while residing in prefabricated shelters, but over time, the tower corroded and was blown over during a winter storm in 1970.

Lamu Island

  • Kenya in East Africa includes the island of Lamu.

  • The 12th century saw the founding of Lamu.

  • About 150 miles from Mombasa, Lamu Island is a harbour, city, and island off the coast of Kenya in the Indian Ocean.

  • Lamu is one of the oldest and best-preserved Swahili-speaking communities still in existence in all of East Africa.

  • The island has been continuously populated for more than seven hundred years and is still a significant hub in eastern Africa.

Zanzibar Island

  • Insular Zanzibar Island is a semi-autonomous region that joined Tanganyika to establish the United Republic of Tanzania in 1964.

  • On the island of Unguja, there is a city named Zanzibar that serves as the capital.

  • It is an archipelago in the Indian Ocean that is 25–50 km (16–31 mi) off the coast of the African continent. It is made up of numerous small islands as well as Unguja (the main island, also known as Zanzibar) and Pemba Island, two large ones.

  • Stone Town, the city's historic core, is a World Heritage Site.

  • The endemic Zanzibar red colobus, the Zanzibar servaline genet, and the extinct or uncommon Zanzibar leopard all reside in the island's terrestrial habitat.

List of Major Island of Africa

Here's a table listing some major islands of Africa, along with their location and approximate area −



Area (square kilometres)


Indian Ocean



Indian Ocean


Sao Tome and Principe

Gulf of Guinea



Indian Ocean



Indian Ocean


Cape Verde Islands

Atlantic Ocean

Varies by island

Tunisia Island

Mediterranean Sea


Seal Island

Atlantic Ocean


Lamu Island

Indian Ocean


Zanzibar Island

Indian Ocean



A wide variety of large islands in Africa provide magnificent beauty, abundant biodiversity, and distinctive cultural experiences. Each island has its own unique characteristics, from the wide and varied landscapes of Madagascar to the exquisite beaches of the Seychelles and the historical beauty of Lamu Island. Africa's islands offer travelers a wealth of experiences, whether they are looking for close encounters with wildlife, immaculate beaches, or a look into ancient civilizations.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the largest island of Africa?

The largest island of Africa is Madagascar, located in the Indian Ocean.

Where are the Seychelles located?

The Seychelles are situated in the western Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar.

How many islands make up Cape Verde?

Cape Verde is an archipelago consisting of ten volcanic islands in the Atlantic Ocean.

What is the capital of Sao Tome and Principe?

The capital of Sao Tome and Principe is Sao Tome, and it is located in the Gulf of Guinea.

What is the approximate area of Mauritius?

Mauritius has a total area of 2,040 square kilometers in the Indian Ocean.

Updated on: 15-Nov-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started