Law of Moses

The Torah, the first five books of the Bible, is known as the Law of Moses. It alludes to the more than 600 commandments and laws included in the Torah's second through fifth books. The Law of Moses is based on the Ten Commandments, of which Deuteronomy and Leviticus are considered to be the two most important. The phrase "Law of Moses" first appears after Moses's passing, when Joshua had it plastered into stones and recited it out to the people.

What is the meaning of the Law of Moses?

The exact definition of the Law of Moses can be concluded by the following terms −

  • Law of Moses − The Bible uses this word to refer to both the terms of the Mosaic Covenant as well as the entirety of the Pentateuch, which includes the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. The Pentateuch, especially the chapters from Exodus 20 to Deuteronomy, contains the Mosaic covenant.

  • Law − Similar to the "Law of Moses," this expression can be used to refer to both the Mosaic Covenant and the entirety of the Pentateuch. The Greek term for "law" in the New Testament can also refer to a concept, as in "the law of the Spirit of life in Christ," "the perfect law of liberty," or just "law." Therefore, the meaning of "law" is decided on the bases of the situation or circumstances.

  • Torah − This Hebrew word really means "instruction." The context determines its exact meaning

Kind of Laws of Moses

There are three main divisions of the Law of Moses −

  • Moral Laws − It reflected God's holy, unchanging nature. The Ten Commandments were among the moral laws.

  • Civil (or Judicial) Laws − It governed the everyday conduct of the Hebrew people. These laws established the punishments for a variety of crimes, including theft, abduction, and defamation, as well as rules governing marriage and divorce, sexual behaviour, and property rights.

  • Ceremonial Laws − It governing how the Israelites were to worship God. The ceremonial rules provided instructions on how to conduct ceremonies, provide sacrifices, and observe festivals. This group included the laws defining what was "clean" and "unclean."

Characteristics of Law of Moses

The following are the characteristics of Law of Moses −

  • The basis for the rest of the Law is the Ten Commandments − The Ten Commandments provide a broad framework for the covenant people's interactions with their God, other family members, the other members of the covenant community, and the rest of the world. Near the start of Israel's 40 years of wandering, God delivered them to them as the Ten Commandments. Moses also spoke the Ten Commandments at the conclusion of the Exodus.

  • Jesus gives a description of the fundamentals of the Law of Moses − The greatest and second-greatest commands in the Law of Moses, according to Jesus are to love God with all of your being and to love others as you love yourself. These two mandates are found in Deuteronomy and Leviticus. Leviticus is another crucial scripture where God commands us to be holy. In other words, God instructed his people that they needed to live in a way that reflected his character in order to have a connection with the god. The system of sacrifices assisted them in upholding the purity that was crucial to the bond between humans and deities.

  • The story of the Israelites' exodus from Egypt contains several references to the Law's requirements − The laws and commandments of the Torah are interspersed with the historical account of the occasions of the Israelites' exodus from Egypt and their wanderings in the Sinai desert before entering Canaan to conquer and take possession of it (Exodus 20), beginning with the Ten Commandments themselves. This indicates that laws are not listed in any form of systematic sequence; however occasionally related laws can be found together.

  • Separating the ethical from the ritualistic elements of the Law is challenging, if not impossible − Neither the Old Testament nor the New Testament in the Bible distinguishes between the ritualistic aspects of the Law (such as the priest should wear this garment, make incense using this recipe, offer this kind of sacrifice for that kind of offence, etc.) and the ethical or moral aspects of the Law (such as Don't kill, Don't steal, Don't commit adultery, Don't give false testimony, etc.). It is not only arbitrary and unreasonable, but also subjective, to draw such a difference.

  • Numerous laws are case-sensitive − It appear to represent the outcomes of decisions concerning specific instances. For instance, God issues a directive banning drunkenness among priests who are on duty just after punishing Aaron's two sons Nadab and Abihu for defying His instructions on the type of fire appropriate for sacrifices. Exodus include a lengthy group of similar commandments, with each paragraph taking the form of "If x happens, then do y."


Mosaic Law is a rule of conduct for all people that has been transmitted through religious and cultural traditions. The term "law of Moses" refers to a set of guidelines for followers of the Jewish and Christian faiths. The Pentateuch, which is the first five volumes of the Hebrew Bible, contains laws governing religious observances and begins with the Ten Commandments. The Torah, the holiest book in Judaism, is kept on scrolls inside the ark of the Law in every Jewish synagogue.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the examples of Mosaic Law?

In the Halakha, there are 613 Mosaic Laws. Some of the regulations and norms listed include: not taking revenge, not tattooing your skin, and giving to charity.

What is Mosaic Law?

The laws and doctrines of the ancient Hebrews are known as the Mosaic Law. God gave the prophet Moses 10 of these regulations, which he wrote by hand. There are currently 613 regulations that specify how a Jew should conduct themselves in society.

Does the Mosaic Law still exist?

The Moses Law is still in effect today. Only followers of the Jewish faith, nevertheless, do this. Christian believers are only expected to obey the first 10, sometimes known as the Ten Commandments.

Updated on: 16-Oct-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started