A Comprehensive Guide to All Parts of the Indian Constitution


The total was later amended by the addition of 3 parts, 9A Municipalities, 9B Co-operative Societies, and 14A Tribunals, bringing the total to 25.

In this article we will tell you about A Comprehensive Guide to All Parts of the Indian Constitution. 448 Articles, 25 Parts, and 12 Schedules make up the current Indian Constitution. Additional information that is missing from a specific Article or Part is contained in schedules.

The 25 Parts of the Indian Constitution

In its original form, the Indian Constitution had 395 articles divided into 22 parts. The Indian Constitution has 448 articles divided into 25 parts as of 2021. Here are some of them:

Part I- The Union and Its Territories

India is referred to in the Constitution as a Union of States, indicating that its unity cannot be broken. The Indian Union cannot split in two. The Constitution specifies not only the structure of the Union Government but also the structure of the state governments.

The country is divided into numerous regions known as states or union territories. India is a democratic, secular, and independent country with a parliamentary form of government.

Article 1: Territory and name of the Union.

Article 2: The creation or admission of new States.

Article 3: The creation of new States and changes to the regions, borders, or names of current States.

Article 4: Laws enacted in accordance with articles 2 and 3 that address supplemental, incidental, and consequential issues as well as the amendment of the First and Fourth Schedules.

Part II- Citizenship

Articles 5 to 11 of the Indian Constitution address citizenship under Part II. In contrast to Articles 9 to 11, which describe how citizenship is acquired and lost, Articles 5 to 8 describe who was eligible for Indian citizenship at the time the Constitution was enacted.

Article 5: Citizenship at the time the Constitution was ratified.

Article 6: Citizenship rights of some people who immigrated from Pakistan to India.

Article 7: Citizenship rights for some immigrants to Pakistan.

Article 8: Some people of Indian descent who live outside of India have eight citizenship rights.

Article 9: People who voluntarily become citizens of a foreign state are not considered citizens.

Article 10: The maintenance of citizenship rights.

Article 11: The right to citizenship shall be governed by law.

Part III- Fundamental Rights

A number of Fundamental Rights are guaranteed by Part III of the Indian Constitution (Articles 12 to 35), as well as remedies in the event that they are violated.

The main justification for including these rights in a democratic constitution is that people occasionally need to be protected from collective action by others who might not fully comprehend their demands and positions.

Right to Equality

  • Article 14 states equal protection under the law
  • Prohibits discrimination on the basis of birthplace, race, caste, or religion according to Article 15.
  • Chance equality for all applicants for public employment as per Article 16
  • Abolition of Untouchability in Article 17.
  • Titles are abolished under Article 18.

Right to Freedom

  • Protection of certain rights related to speech freedom, etc., according to Article 19.
  • Protection from offense convictions under Article 20.
  • Defence of life and individual freedom under Article 21
  • Right to education under Article 21A.
  • Protection from arrest and detention in certain situations is provided by Article 22.

Part IV- Directive Principles of State Policy

The Directive Principles of State Policy (DPSP) are incorporated into Articles 36 to 51 of the Indian Constitution, but Article 37 expressly declares that these DPSP are not subject to legal action in a court of law.

These principles were deemed to be non-justiciable in court due to the possibility that the nation's economic resources might not be sufficient to satisfy them because, by their very nature, they cannot be enforced through legal channels.

Article Content
36 Definition.
37 Utilising the concepts presented in this Part.
38 State's responsibility to uphold a social structure that will advance peoples' welfare
39 The State is required to abide by certain policy standards.
39A equal justice and free legal aid
40 The way village panchayats are organized.
41 the right to work, to an education, and, in some cases, to public assistance
42 Provision for fair and compassionate working conditions and maternity leave
43 Living wage, etc., for workers
43A workers' involvement in the management of industries
43B encouragement of cooperative societies
44 Uniform civil code for the citizens of India
45 provision for children's free and required education
46 promotion of the economic and educational goals of Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, and other vulnerable groups


Q1. Why was Part 7 of the Indian Constitution deleted?

Ans: The system of Part A, B, and C states has been completely abandoned, leaving only the division into States and Union Territories. As a result, Part VII of the Seventh Amendment, which dealt with Part B states, is no longer in effect.

Q2. Are there 22 or 25 parts in the Indian Constitution?

Ans: The original Indian Constitution had 395 articles divided into 22 parts. Later, 3 parts were amended and added to it, bringing the total to 25. This brief post gives an overview of the Parts and Articles of the Indian Constitution.

Q3. How many parts are there in Indian Constitution 2023?

Ans: The Indian Constitution originally contained 395 articles divided into 22 parts. The Indian Constitution consists of 25 parts and 448 articles as of 2021.

Q4. What are the 3 words in Preamble?

Ans: The 42nd Constitutional Amendment Act of 1976 added three new words to the Preamble: socialist, secular, and integrity.

Updated on: 15-May-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started