What is the order of execution of TestNG methods?

A TestNG class can have various TestNG methods such as −

  • @BeforeTest

  • @AfterTest

  • @BeforeSuite

  • @BeforeClass

  • @BeforeMethod

  • @test, etc.

In this article, we will take a look at the order of execution of different TestNG methods.

TestNG provides the following methods to support the main @Test method. The order of execution should be as following −


Key points in this order are −

  • First of all, beforeSuite() method is executed only once.

  • The afterSuite() method executes only once.

  • Even the methods beforeTest(), beforeClass(), afterClass(), and afterTest() methods are executed only once.

  • beforeMethod() executes for each test case (every time for a new @Test) but before executing the test case.

  • afterMethod() executes for each test case (every time for a new @Test) but after executing the test case.

  • In between beforeMethod() and afterMethod(), each test case (@Test annotation's method) executes.

Approach/Algorithm to solve this problem −

  • Step 1 − import org.testng.annotations.* for TestNG.

  • Step 2 − Write an annotation as @test

  • Step 3 − Create a method for the @test annotation as test1.

  • Step 4 − Repeat the steps for test2 and test3.

  • Step 5 − Write different annotations and their respective methods, for example, @beforeSuite, @afterSuite, @beforeTest, @afterTest, @beforeClass, @afterClass, @beforeMethod, @afterMethod

  • Step 6 − Now create the testNG.xml as given below.

  • Step 7 − Run the testNG.xml or run the testNG class directly in IDE or compile and run it using command line.


Use the following code to show the order of different TestNG methods −

import org.testng.annotations.*;
import org.testng.annotations.Test;
public class OrderofTestExecutionInTestNG {
   // test case 1
   public void testCase1() {
      System.out.println("in test case 1");
   // test case 2
   public void testCase2() {
      System.out.println("in test case 2");
   public void beforeMethod() {
      System.out.println("in beforeMethod");
   public void afterMethod() {
      System.out.println("in afterMethod");
   public void beforeClass() {
      System.out.println("in beforeClass");
   public void afterClass() {
      System.out.println("in afterClass");
   public void beforeTest() {
      System.out.println("in beforeTest");
   public void afterTest() {
      System.out.println("in afterTest");
   public void beforeSuite() {
      System.out.println("in beforeSuite");
   public void afterSuite() {
      System.out.println("in afterSuite");


This is a configuration file that is used to organize and run the TestNG test cases. It is very handy when limited tests are needed to execute rather than the full suite.

<?xml version = "1.0" encoding = "UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE suite SYSTEM "http://testng.org/testng-1.0.dtd" >
<suite name = "Suite1">
   <test name = "test1">
         <class name = "OrderofTestExecutionInTestNG"/>


in beforeSuite
in beforeTest
in beforeClass
in beforeMethod
in test case 1
in afterMethod
in beforeMethod
in test case 2
in afterMethod
in afterClass
in afterTest
in afterSuite