What is the order of events of Republic day celebration at Red Fort?

Governments & PoliciesGeneral TopicsAir ForceArmyNavy

Republic day in India is celebrated on 26th of January every year and holds a seminal value. The day is celebrated in grandeur in the capital city's India Gate. Various events take place in the capital city and elsewhere to celebrate the framing of the Indian Constitution.

Order of Events On Republic Day

  • Prime Minister lays a floral wreath at Amar Jawan Jyoti. It is an Indian memorial constructed post the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971 to commemorate the martyred soldiers of the Indian Armed Forces who died during the war.

  • President along with his bodyguards proceeds to the parade ground in Red Fort. It is located in the center of Delhi and houses a number of museums.

  • President unfurls the National Flag of India viz. Tiranga, and then the National Anthem is played following which a 21-gun salute is given as the President renders the National Salute.

  • Momentous awards are given to people. Kirti Chakra, Ashoka Chakra, National Bravery Award etc are given.

  • All three forces- Army, Navy and Air Force pay homage and salute to the Commander in Chief (President).

  • Broadcast of lots of union ministries and state enterprises take place in the grand parade.

  • Parade conventionally ends with dare-devil motorcycle riding by motorcycle units of the Armed Forces by the Indian Air Force jets and helicopters.

  • The Beating Retreat ceremony denotes the end of Republic Day festivities.

  • These are the order of various ceremonies that take place in Republic Day, which is a special day for every Indian Citizen.

Updated on 30-Jul-2019 22:30:24