The Interim Government of 1947: A Stepping Stone Towards Independence

The Interim Government of 1947

The Interim Government of 1947 paved the way for the end of the struggle to free our nation from British rule. India made a significant advancement towards achieving self-governance and asserting its sovereignty with the establishment of this government.

The Interim Government's history, significance, and role in laying the groundwork for India's eventual independence are all covered in this article. We will examine the significant figures, occasions, as well as how they influenced India's future as a country.

What Led to The Formation of Interim Administration?

Interim Government of India was established as a transitional government between an imperial structure and a democratic structure. It lasted until August 15, 1947, when India attained independence and was divided into Pakistan and India.

This Interim Government was established from the August 1946-elected Constituent Assembly. Representatives were chosen by the provincial assemblies in a non-direct election for the Constituent Assembly.

The Indian National Congress won these elections by obtaining a majority of 69% of the seats. The Muslim League won 73 seats, while the Congress Party won 208.

The Executive Council of the Viceroy

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was chosen as the Vice President and de facto Prime Minister.

Later the Muslim League eventually joined the Interim Government despite initially refusing to do so because of its insistence on a separate country.

The Formation of the Interim Administration

After world war 2, When all political prisoners associated with the Quit India movement were freed after the war, it was a turning point.

By announcing their participation in the creation of the Constituent Assembly, the Indian National Congress significantly contributed to setting the stage.

The 1946 Cabinet Mission was then dispatched to India by the newly elected Clement Attlee administration to make suggestions for setting up a government that would result in India's independence.

The Decisions Taken by The Cabinet

  • To make direct diplomatic contacts and goodwill missions with all nations.
  • support for colonized countries' right to independence.
  • The International Civil Aviation Convention was ratified in November 1946.
  • A committee was established in the same month to advise the government on nationalizing the armed forces.
  • The US announced Dr. Henry F. Grady's appointment as its ambassador to India in April 1947.
  • The Department of External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations was created on June 1 by the merger of the Indian Commonwealth Relations Department and the External Affairs Department.

Members of The Interim Government

The following individuals made up the interim government of India's cabinet:


Viscount Wavell till February 1947 and then Lord Mountbatten (from February 1947) President of the Executive Council
Sir Claude Auchinleck Commander-in-Chief
Jawaharlal Nehru (INC) Vice President, and in charge of External Affairs and Commonwealth Relations
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (INC) Home Affairs, Information and Broadcasting
Rajendra Prasad (INC) Agriculture and Food
Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar (ML) Commerce
Baldev Singh (INC) Defence
Liaquat Ali Khan (ML) Finance
C Rajagopalachari (INC) Education and Arts
Ghazanfar Ali Khan (ML) Health
Jagjivan Ram (INC) Labour
Jogendra Nath Mandal (ML) Law
Abdur Rab Nishtar (ML) Railways and Communications, Post and Air
C H Bhabha (INC) Works, Mines and Power

The Cabinet Mission was sent by the British government in 1946 from London to help set up the interim government. The Interim Government was in charge until a new one was established on August 15, 1947. India's new prime minister is Nehru.


Q1. What was the Interim Government of 1947?

Ans: India held elections in 1946 and selected a group of individuals to create the Constituent Assembly. On 2nd September this Assembly assumed control of India as the Interim Government of India, also known as the Provisional Government of India. Helping British India regain its independence was their responsibility.

Q2. How was the Interim Government formed in 1946 under the leadership of Jawaharlal Nehru?

Ans: The Cabinet Mission was sent by the British government in 1946 from London to help set up the interim government. The Interim Government was in charge until a new one was established on August 15, 1947. India's new prime minister is Nehru.

Q3. Who was the president of the Interim Government formed in 1946?

Ans: Jawaharlal Nehru presided over the vice president of the Council of ministers and established the interim cabinet in 1946 where Jawaharlal Nehru was given the authority of the interim prime minister.

Q4. What happened in 1947 in India?

Ans: In 1947, the Indian Independence Act was passed. India and Pakistan became two new independent nations as a result of the act. East Pakistan, which is now Bangladesh, and Pakistan were split from one another. The Bengal and Punjab provinces were divided between the two new countries.

Q5. How did India get independence in 1947?

Ans: India gained independence from the British Empire on August 15, 1947, thanks to Mahatma Gandhi's nonviolent resistance philosophy and the Independence Movement he led. Lord Mountbatten, India's last viceroy, oversaw the change in power.

Qns 6. What was the interim government of India formed by Subhash Chandra Bose?

Ans: The Prime Minister, the Minister for War and Foreign Affairs, and Subhas Chandra Bose served as the head of the Provisional Government of Free India.

Updated on: 15-May-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started