How to Delete Data Permanently from a PC?

Cyber SecurityAnti VirusSafe & Security

Deleting a file or formatting a hard disc does not result in the data being removed from your hard drive. The problem arises when you delete a file, it goes to the recycling bin, and when you empty the recycle bin or press the shift + delete keys, you're actually removing the path to the files, not the files themselves. Formatting, on the other hand, does not destroy data; it just eliminates the present file system and defines or sets up a new one. However, the data on the hard disc is still intact.

To put it another way, formatting the disc and destroying files and directories only makes it more difficult to access such files and folders. These lost files and contents from a formatted disc may readily be restored using a data recovery program, posing a serious threat to data privacy and security.

What Happens When a File Is Deleted?

You must understand how your operating system stores data on your hard drives. Your files are preserved in little bits or portions on the hard disc. Data chunks are commonly dispersed throughout the memory architecture. Your operating system's file managers maintain track of your files by knowing the addresses or links to all of the chunks stated above. These are referred to as inode numbers.

When you delete a file, your OS deletes the information it has about these links or inode values. When you delete a file, the link to the file is deleted from the table in the File Manager System that keeps track of the file. The data is still there, as you can see from the description above.

The only thing that is changed is the links to the material they contain. Hard disc drives do not erase information; instead, they replace it. Even if the data has been overwritten or relocated to a detachable disc, it is feasible to restore it.

If you've ever attempted to format a hard disc or USB flash drive, you'll see that you have two options: rapid format and slow format. In a fast format, just the inode links are erased, but in a slow format, the OS rewrites all the blocks numerous times with random data.

You may mistakenly believe that your file has been removed from your device after pressing the delete button. Because the dynamic connection to the data was just destroyed — but not the data in memory — a file deleted from your computer may end up in the recycle bin. If it was in the recycle bin, it could be seen and simply restored, resulting in the creation of a new link.

What happens if a file is accidentally removed from the recycle bin? You may believe that once a file is erased from the recycle bin, it is permanently deleted, but this is not the case. As previously stated, the connection to the file's data has been removed. Unless you use ‘secure erase' programs, files deleted from your computer can be retrieved.

How to Delete Files and Folders Forever?

Hidden data or data inside a formatted disc of your computer must be erased — not deleted — to permanently remove data from your computer. You can permanently wipe deleted data by overwriting it, but you can't be sure if you're writing data in the same blocks as the deleted files. As a result, deleting the files guarantees that they are removed and that the blocks in which they were stored are replaced with a sequence of ones and zeros.

Wipe the free space on your computer's hard disc since it may hold previously erased information or data, if you want to ensure that your deleted information or data doesn't end up in the wrong hands.

Follow these procedures to permanently delete data from your computer using BitRaser −

  • Get BitRaser for File and install it. Run the software after it has been installed.

  • Select the erasure algorithm and verification from the corresponding drop-down lists under the 'Tools' tab.

  • Select the 'Home' option, then in the left tree-view window, select 'Erase Now.'

  • Expand the disc to find the directory or files you wish to remove permanently, then tick the box next to them to select them.

  • Next, delete any unused space that may hold sensitive information. To do so, take the following steps −

    • Click 'Erase Unused Space' in the left tree-view window, then choose the hard disc. To choose all accessible drives, click the 'Select All' checkbox at the bottom.

    • Select 'Erase Now' from the drop-down menu. This procedure might take a long time. When the procedure is finished, select 'Yes' when requested.

    • In the bottom-right corner of the program window, click the 'Erase Now' option.

    • Wait till the procedure is completed. For the time being, click 'NO' when requested.

raja
Updated on 03-May-2022 12:47:45

Advertisements