Creating a Multilevel Inheritance Hierarchy in Java

Java 8Object Oriented ProgrammingProgramming

Inheritance involves an object acquiring the properties and behaviour of another object. So basically, using inheritance can extend the functionality of the class by creating a new class that builds on the previous class by inheriting it.

Multilevel inheritance is when a class inherits a class which inherits another class. An example of this is class C inherits class B and class B in turn inherits class A.

A program that demonstrates a multilevel inheritance hierarchy in Java is given as follows:


 Live Demo

class A {
   void funcA() {
      System.out.println("This is class A");
class B extends A {
   void funcB() {
      System.out.println("This is class B");
class C extends B {
   void funcC() {
      System.out.println("This is class C");
public class Demo {
   public static void main(String args[]) {
      C obj = new C();


This is class A
This is class B
This is class C
Updated on 30-Jul-2019 22:30:24