High Jump - Tournaments and Champions


International Associations of athletic federation (IAAF) is the governing body of high jump. Every participating country have their own governing body to organize the game successfully throughout the calendar. Here is the list of some important tournaments in this category.

  • Summer Olympics
  • World Championship
  • World Indoor championship
  • Continental Championship
  • Continental indoor championship
  • Commonwealth games
  • Universidad
  • Mediterranean

A brief synopsis of some of the champions of high jump is given below.

Javier Sotomayor

Javier Sotomayor

He is a competitor from Cuba. He is the only person who has cleared the 8 feet height. He has total 16 gold medals in total during his whole career by competing in various tournaments. By the age of 19, he held the record of world’s no five best jumpers.

Dietmar Mogenburg

Dietmar Mogenburg

He is a competitor from West Germany. He has won West German high jump championship 10 times. He has won a total of seven gold medals in his whole career through various tournaments. At the age of 18, Mögenburg managed to jump 2.35m and set a new world outdoor junior record. Mogenburg, later in 1985, established a new world indoor mark of 2.39m in Cologne.

Stefan Holm


He is a competitor from Sweden. He has bagged total eight gold medals in his whole high jump career till now. Holm rose to fame in 2000 when he finished 4th at the Sydney Olympics with a leap of 2.32 m. His personal outdoor and indoor records are 2.37 m and 2.40 m respectively. In addition, Holm has the unique distinction of jumping 2 m or higher in six different techniques.

E-Books Store