Following are the major eligibility criteria required to appear in the civil services exam −

Criteria Explanation
Nationality For IAS & IPS Applicant must be the citizen of India
For all other services

Applicant must be either −

  • a citizen of India, or
  • a subject of Nepal, or
  • a subject of Bhutan, or
  • a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962
Age Limit Minimum Age Applicants of all categories must have attained the age of 21 years
Maximum Age For general category applicants – 32 years
For Other Backward Classes (OBC) – 35 years
For Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe – 37 years
For Defence Services Personnel (who disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof) – 35 years
For ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least five years Military Service – 37 years
For ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Service – 37 years
For blind, Hearing Impaired and Orthopaedically handicapped persons – 42 years
Educational Qualifications Minimum Ed. Qualification The applicant must hold a Bachelor’s Degree from a recognized University
Number of Attempts For General Category applicants Six (6) Attempts
For OBCs applicant Nine (9) Attempts
For and SCs & STs applicants No limit
Physical Standards Applicants must be physically fit according to physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination
Fee For General Category applicant INR 100
For OBC Category applicant INR 100
For Female/SC/ST/PH applicants No Fee required
Mode of Payment Remitting the money in any Branch of SBI by Cash
By using net banking facility of State Bank of India
By using Visa/Master Credit/Debit Card

To download pdf Click here.