What is Test Maturity Model (TMM) in Software Testing?

Software TestingTesting ToolsAutomation Testing

To ensure the quality and performance of software, testers need to run it through a series of models. One such testing model is called the Test Maturity Model or TMM. However, TMM nowadays has been replaced by Test Maturity Model Integration (TMMI). The TMMI comes with 5 level models providing a framework to measure the maturity of all testing processes. In short, the primary goal of TMM is to implement ways to optimize the testing processes. In some cases, TMM is used as a standalone model, while in others, it can be integrated with other models.

TMM model comprises two major components

  • A set of 5 levels defining the testing capability - It contains processes like establishing maturity goals, maturity sub-goals activities, and setting up tasks and responsibilities.

  • An assessment model - It contains ways to accumulate crucial data through a web-based maturity questionnaire. It also includes tasks like implementing assessment procedures, team selection, and creating testing guidelines.

5 Levels of Test Maturity Model (TMM)

Each level of the TMM has its own role and importance. Each level is developed with a welldefined goal and an exclusive structure.

The test maturity model is inspired by the Capability Maturity Model (CMM). The CMM is a structured tool used for software development, and it also serves as a model for certain business processes.

Level 1 - Initialization

As the first level of TMM, testers don't have to define the testing process. Instead, testers only run ad-hoc testing on the software. The core motive behind this level is to ensure the software runs fine and doesn't exhibit any performance issues. Testers also don't have to go through any Quality Assurance checks before delivering the software.

Level 2 - Definition

At this level, the development team defines the software requirement as stated by the client. This includes steps like building test strategies, developing test plans and test cases. The prime objective behind the 'definition' level is to confirm that the product is running perfectly. To achieve that, testers much prepare test cases and test plan documents and then follow each step with utmost precision

Level 3 - Integration

This is the part where testers start integrating testing with the software life cycle. Testers define the test objectives by considering the client's requirements. Then they implement the test objectives on all activities of the SLC.

Testing is conducted after the development of the product is completed. The developed software is given to the testing team to check its efficiency, performance, and errors.

Level 4 - Management and Measurement

In this level, the testing team plan and prepare the test measurement program. Since testing is measured and quantified, testers must gather required resources, design the testing processes, and decide the quality criteria. This helps the organization get a clear picture of how the software will perform in real-life scenarios.

All development phases are reviewed and recognized as tests. Then testers conduct reuse and regression testing by gathering test data and record them in a test database. Then the team logs the defects after giving them appropriate security levels.

Level 5 - Optimization

This the last and the most important level of TMM. In this process, testers works on optimizing the test process. After examining each process, testers work on improving it with iteration by iteration via using a combination of tools. This level allows the test team to monitor the effectiveness and costs of the project. Each iteration is further fine-tuned and improved to run again until it reaches perfection. This is the process where testers implement quality control and defect prevention practices ensuring the software lives up to the client's expectation.

How Test Maturity Model (TMM) enhances an organization's testing processes?

Implementing TMM can help an organization in several ways −

  • Keeps the whole process organized − Since the whole TMM is classified into five levels, it becomes easier for developers and testers to plan, organize, execute, monitor, and report in a much better way. Definitely, TMM requires much less maintenance as compared to other testing models.

  • Identify the current maturity of an organization − TMM empowers organizations to evaluate their current maturity level. It allows them to understand whether their current processes are proactive or reactive. With the proper information, organizations can assume the effort it will take to move to the next level of maturity.

  • Allows Systematic structuring to meet end goals − Once the gap between the current and expected maturity level is figured, companies have enough time to break down the testing structure to realize their final goal.

  • Enhances testing practices − Every level of TMM follows a series of procedures such as persistent reviewing, sending feedback, offering solutions, and repeating the process to perfection. It aids in enhancing the overall testing process of an organization, allowing them to reach top maturity.


TMM is comparatively a new concept than CMM, but the goal behind executing these models remains the same. It tells us how a structured set of levels can result in high-quality output. This is all achievable by optimizing the process, practice, and overall behavior of an organization. Each level of the TMM is exclusive and customizable, allowing organizations to become more transparent, time-efficient, and productive.

Published on 09-Jun-2021 12:52:49