What is the Human Body?

The human body is a complex, highly organized structure, composed of many different types of living cells that together create tissues, these tissues together create organs, these organs together create the organ systems, and subsequently the Organism.

It contains a head, neck, trunk (which includes the thorax and abdomen), arms and hands, legs and feet.

The elements such as hydrogen, oxygen, carbon, calcium and phosphorus are present in the human body.

There are approximately 200 bones, 650 muscles, 79 organs, and enough blood vessels which can circle the Earth twice.

The study of the human body involves anatomy, physiology, histology and embryology.

Human Body System is categorized into 11 different types, and they are:-

1. Circulatory system / Cardiovascular system.

2. Digestive system and Excretory system.

3. Endocrine system.

4. Integumentary system / Exocrine system.

5. Immune system and lymphatic system.

6. Muscular system.

7. Nervous system.

8. Renal system and Urinary system.

9. Reproductive system.

10. Respiratory system.

11. Skeletal System.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 27-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started