What is Neuron?

Neurons are the fundamental units of the brain and the nervous system, which is also known as the nerve cell.

It is an individual specialized cell, primarily involved in transmitting information through electrical and chemical signals. They receive and transmit signals to different parts of the body.

They are found in the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves.

Neurons are divided into three types-

1. The sensory neurons- carry information from the sensory receptor cells to the brain.

2. Motor neurons- transmit information from the brain to the muscles or glands.

3. Interneurons- transmit information between different neurons.


Neurons have four different parts-

1. Dendrites are branch-like structures that receive messages from other neurons. They allow the transmission of messages to the cell body.

2. Cell Body has a nucleus, Golgi body, endoplasmic reticulum, mitochondria, and other components.

3. Axon is a tube-like structure that carries electrical impulse from the cell body to the axon terminals which passes the impulse to another neuron.

4 Synapse is a chemical junction between the terminal of one neuron and the dendrites of another neuron.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 29-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started