What is Kingdom Animalia?

Kingdom Animalia, also known as Metazoa, consists of various multicellular eukaryotic heterotrophs animals species, from the tiny parasitic nematodes and microscopic invertebrates to the largest of mammals, the blue whale.

It is the largest kingdoms on the planet Earth among the five kingdoms scheme (Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae) of classification by Whittaker.

On the basis of the body design Kingdom Animalia, has been classified into ten different subphyla, and they are as follows:

1. Phylum - Porifera                            Example-  Sponges

2. Phylum - Coelenterata (Cnidaria)   Example-  Jellyfish, Hydra, Coral.

3. Phylum - Nematoda                        Example-  Roundworms, Ascaris.

4. Phylum - Platyhelminthes              Example-  Flatworms, Tapeworms.

5. Phylum - Annelida                          Example-  Earthworms, Leeches. 

6. Phylum - Arthropoda                      Example-  Spider, Scorpions, Mosquitoes.

7. Phylum - Mollusca                          Example-  Snails, Octopus.

8. Phylum - Echinodermata               Example-  Starfish, Sea Cucumber, Sea Urchin.

9. Phylum - Hemichordata                  Example-  Balanoglossus and Saccoglossus.

10. Phylum - Chordata                        Example-  Ascidia, Salpa, Doliolum, Lancelet.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 27-Mar-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started