What are the major divisions in the Plantae? What is the basis for these divisions?

We have a variety of animals, plants, and microbes. We know some and don't know others. Our earth has various plant varieties. Some have seeds, some don't. Some are flowerless. Some plants have vascular systems.

Plantae are divided depending on flowering vs. non-flowering reproductive organs.

Carl Linnaeus separated the kingdoms into living and nonliving. Ernst Haeckel suggested dividing protists into three kingdoms. Animalia, Plantae, and Protists. Herbert F. Copeland introduced Kingdom Monera, which comprises prokaryotes. We can classify kingdoms by prokaryotes (monera) and eukaryotes (Animalia, Plantae, and protists).

Finally, we adopted Robert Whittacker's Five kingdom classification: prokaryotes include monera, while eukaryotes comprise animalia, plantae, protists, and fungi.

The major divisions in the Kingdom Plantae are: Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnosperms, and Angiosperms.

(i) Thallophyta plants possess a simple body design that cannot be differentiated into roots, stems, and leaves.

(ii) Bryophyta plants can be differentiated into stem and leaf-like structures. These plants are devoid of vascular systems.

(iii) Pteridophyta plants can be well-differentiated into 3 different parts and possess a vascular system. Reproductive organs are not well-developed and seeds are not produced.

(iv) Gymnosperms plants possess well-developed reproductive organs but seeds are naked (without any seed coat).

(v) Angiosperms plants produce seeds with seed coats.

These divisions were based on the below-mentioned criteria:

(i)  Differentiation of plant body

(ii) Presence of vascular tissues

(iii) Presence of seeds

(iv) Presence of seed coats.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 06-Jan-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started