The layer of air around the earth is known as ………………….

The layer of air around the earth is known as the atmosphere.

[Extra information:

Earth's atmosphere is composed of about 78% nitrogen, 21% oxygen, and one percent other gases. These are colorless and odorless gases. It also contains trace amounts of carbon dioxide, neon, helium, methane, krypton, hydrogen, nitrous oxide, xenon, ozone, iodine, carbon monoxide, water vapors, and ammonia.

Nitrogen: Nitrogen makes up 78% of the air in the atmosphere. The nitrogen cycle transfers nitrogen to plants, animals, and the environment. Nitrogen (N) is one of the building blocks of life: it is essential for all plants and animals to survive. When nitrogen oxides interact with water droplets in the air, it forms nitric acid, causing acid rain.

Oxygen: Oxygen accounts for 21% of the atmosphere. It is extremely reactive and forms compounds with a wide range of other chemicals, and it is required for living creatures to breathe.

Ozone: The ozone layer is formed by ozone gas in the stratosphere. The ozone layer protects us from harmful UV rays and hence is essential for the survival of life on Earth's surface.

Argon: Argon is an inert gas that makes up about 1% of the atmosphere.

Water Vapours: Water circulates through all of Earth's systems in its three states, solid, liquid, and gas known as the water cycle.

Carbon Dioxide: Carbon dioxide makes up about 0.03 % of the atmosphere naturally, but it is growing as a result of the combustion of fossil fuels. Carbon dioxide is used by plants and eubacteria during photosynthesis.]


Simply Easy Learning