Name the regions in which parenchyma tissue is present.

Simple permanent tissues are made up of only one type of cell. Simple permanent tissues cannot be divided. The cells are differentiated. Simple or complex tissues are present. Cells can be living (Parenchyma) or non-living (Sclerenchyma).

They are classified into three main types such as parenchyma, collenchyma, and sclerenchyma.

Parenchyma: Parenchyma tissues possess living cells, with thin cell walls. They are oval, elongated, and loosely packed with large intercellular spaces and dense cytoplasm.
They are located in the soft parts of the plant such as the cortex and pith.

Parenchyma tissues are present in the pith of the roots and stems.

When it contains chlorophyll, it is called chlorenchyma, found in green leaves. In aquatic plants, parenchyma contains large air cavities and helps them to float. Such a type of parenchyma is called aerenchyma.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 06-Jan-2023


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started