Explain three zones of a candle flame.

A candle flame consists of three zones. These are the Innermost zone, middle zone, outer zone. The three zones of a flame have different colours and different temperature.

The different zones of a candle flame can be described as follows:

1. The innermost zone: It is formed just around the wick of the candle flame as the candle burns. It is also known as the dark zone of the flame. It consists of hot, unburnt vapours of the combustible material. It is the least hot of all the zones. There is no air present here.

2. Middle zone: It is also known as luminous zone. The colour of this zone is yellow. It is moderately hot with limited oxygen supply. Hence, the fuel vapours burn partially and produce carbon particles. These particles then leave the flame as smoke and soot. This zone is the major part of the flame. 

3. The outermost zone: It is also known as non-luminous zone and it is the zone of complete combustion. It is blue in colour.

The ample presence of oxygen helps in complete combustion. It is the hottest zone of the candle flame and does not contribute to producing light.


Simply Easy Learning

Updated on: 10-Oct-2022


Kickstart Your Career

Get certified by completing the course

Get Started