Navratna Jewellery: Meaning & Types

The history of Navaratna jewellery dates back to ancient India and is quite fascinating. Seven planets and two “nodes” are thought to make up the Hindu universe. These are collectively known as the nine planets. The navagrahas, also known as the celestial gods, relate to each of the nine planets. Nine gemstones, known as the navaratna, are linked to each of the nine celestial gods. The sun, moon, five planets, and two “nodes” of the Earth are all represented by one of the nine heavenly gods. They make up the Hindu universe collectively. The nine planets and the gods they correspond with are thought to have an impact on people and their fate. The nine celestial gods are represented by nine gemstones in navratna jewelry: the Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mercury (Buddha), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), Mars (Mangala), Jupiter (Brhaspati), Ascending Node (Rahu), or Dragon’s Head, and Descending Node (Dragon’s Tail).

Historical Background

Navaratna jewellery was traditionally worn as an amulet by kings and emperors (Maharaja) throughout ancient times. The combination of these nine diamonds isthought to invoke the cosmic energies of heavenly bodies in totality because each of these gemstones is linked to a celestial deity. The Navaratna was believed to represent the entirety of the universe according to Hindu religion, and the royal rulers of ancient India worshipped gemstones as Hindu gods. Only kings and emperors were granted the privilege of donning particular types of Navaratna jewellery because the nine gems were thought to be so potent.

For instance, only the Maharaja and his close family members were allowed to wear royal turban decorations. The diamond is regarded as the most potent of the nine stones. Diamonds were historically presented as an offering to regain a ruler’s lost favour, as a tribute in return for protection, or as a sign of submission to an enemy king. In order to ensure their immortality, Mughal emperors had their names and titles etched on diamonds. The Navaratna, particularly diamonds, had a tremendous impact on India’s history. They stood for supremacy and authority because they were cosmic representatives, and as such, they were regularly employed to finance wars, compel abdications, spark revolutions, and serve other military and political objectives. In an effort to kill enemy leaders and officers, crushed diamonds were frequently fed to them because it was thought that diamonds were poisonous. Diamonds, which were regarded as the most priceless of the Navaratna, were also given to military warriors who had won battles in order to honour them or as a ransom to free a king or prince who had been imprisoned or kidnapped.

Also, gemstones were once used to both prevent and treat disease as well as other ills. These precious stones included diamonds, pearls, rubies, sapphires, emeralds, topaz, coral, cat’s eye, and zircons or hyacinths. The navaratna is the name given to these nine gemstones. A precious stone is referred to as a “ratna.” The nine gemstones are further divided into two categories: Maharatani, the great stone, and Uparatnani, the lesser stone. The lesser stones have changed over time, but the great stones have remained the same throughout human history.

The Meaning of Navratna Jewels

The significance of these nine jewels, according to Indian legend, is as follows:


According to legend, a ruby bestows upon its wearer name, reputation, vigour, virtue, warmth, and the ability to command.


Memory, communication, intuition, intellect, and the capacity to learn are among the cognitive functions that emerald is said to support.


Pearls are said to aid in long life and good deeds. They encourage vitality and intelligence, as well as prosperity and a life of luxury.

Red coral

Red coral is reputed to have healing properties, improve memory, and provide a strong defence against evil spirits.

Cat’s eye

Wearers of Cat’s Eye are shielded from shady foes, unidentified threats, and diseases. It is considered to bring good luck to gamblers.


Hessonite can facilitate quick success in a shorter amount of time than anticipated. Additionally, it enhances interpersonal relationships and shields the user from unforeseen bad luck.

Blue Sapphire

According to legend, a blue sapphire has the ability to give its owner everything they could ever want, including health, riches, longevity, and happiness.


The purpose of a diamond is to increase a person’s name, popularity, and artistic ability. It produces goodness and eliminates evil and frightful ideas.

Yellow sapphire

The yellow sapphire is thought to aid in improving financial standing. Wealth, good health, a good name, honor, and fame are all expected of the wearer.


A certain direction in the universe is under the dominion of each celestial god. The nine gemstones fit into this comparison as well. For the wearer’s protection, the gods enter the gemstone. The connected gem, in turn, directs how the wearer’s life will go. The possible advantages of navaratna jewellery, which includes necklaces, bracelets, and rings, are listed below. Navarathana jewellery is intended to treat and heal illness, protect against negative influences from all directions, and promote prosperity, longevity, and success.

Setting Arrangements

Navratna jewellery can be put on rings so that the stones are in contact with the skin. The weight of the stones is chosen based on the astrological chart of the client. The graphic depicts how these nine stones are typically put together and arranged. The sun is always symbolised by a ruby, which is always at the centre, and is encircled (clockwise from the top) by diamonds, natural pearls, red coral, hessonite, blue sapphires, cat’s eyes, yellow sapphires, and emeralds. A ruby is typically the only stone put in the centre of a nine-gem design. This is seen as going against the natural order of things. The sun’s gem is situated in the centre of a navetna because it is the centre of the solar system.


For many centuries, jewellery has been a significant aspect of everyday life for Indians. The earlier times had relatively simpler jewellery designs and techniques, but over time, they evolved into more intricate and complex designs. As the centuries passed, jewellery began to have more spiritual and social significance after initially being used only for decoration and ornamentation. Soon, they were no longer only worn to enhance one’s appearance; instead, they evolved into spiritual symbols that were thought to have the power to affect celestial bodies. To conclude, over the past several centuries, Navaratna jewellery has gained popularity throughout Asia. Navaratna jewellery is an important part of Indian religious and astrological traditions, valued for its cosmic power as well as its monetary value. The demand for Navaratna jewellery is certain to increase in the upcoming years due to a recent resurgence in interest in astrology as a scientific topic.